Delightful Decomposers: Kids Books About Worms

This post contains affiliate links at no cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Nobody loves me. Everybody hates me. I guess I’ll go eat worms!

Kids are fascinated by icky, squish earthworms. Here are five picture books staring these fascinating creatures.

Remember to check out my DIY bookworm finger puppets to add to the fun.

 
 

Toto’s Apple
Mathieu Lavoie
Phaidon Press
Ages 2-5

 

From the publisher:


Creativity and perseverance lead to unexpected success for a little worm who goes after an apple high up in a tree


The apple is up high. Toto is down low.
A bird flies by. Toto has an idea.


And so this hilariously expressive little worm gets busy creating plan after plan to reach his desired meal. His crafty strategies are successfully executed but miserably unproductive... until the opportunity presents itself and Toto seizes the moment without foresight. With just the perfect balance of predictability and surprise, this tale reads like an animated short that the reader will want to see again and again.

 

Click to enlarge.

 


Find Toto’s Apple on Amazon or support independent bookselling by using IndieBound.

Shop Indie Bookstores

 
 

The Worm : The Disgusting Critters Series
Elise Gravel
Tundra Books
Ages 6 to 9, Grades 1 to 4


From the publisher:


The second in a series of humorous books about disgusting creatures, The Worm is a look at the earthworm. It covers such topics as the worm's habitats (sometimes they live inside other animals), its anatomy (its muscle tube is slimy and gross), and its illustrious history (worms have been on Earth for 120 million years). Although silly and off-the-wall, The Worm contains factual information that ties in with curriculum.


Check out the fun teaching guide for The Worm and the other books in the Disgusting Critter Series at http://penguinrandomhouse.ca/sites/default/files/the-worm_guideresized.pdf

 
Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

 


Find The Worm on Amazon or support independent bookselling by using IndieBound.

Shop Indie Bookstores

 
 

Worm Loves Worm
J. J. Austrian, Mike Curato
Balzer & Brey (Harper Childrens)
Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3


From the publisher:


Perfect for fans of And Tango Makes Three and The Sissy Duckling, this irresistible picture book is a celebration of love in all its splendid forms from debut author J. J. Austrian and the acclaimed author-illustrator of Little Elliot, Big Fun, Mike Curato.
You are cordially invited to celebrate the wedding of a worm . . . and a worm.
When a worm meets a special worm and they fall in love, you know what happens next: They get married! But their friends want to know—who will wear the dress? And who will wear the tux?


The answer is: It doesn't matter. Because Worm loves worm.

 

Click to enlarge.

 


Find Worm Loves Worm on Amazon or support independent bookselling by using IndieBound.

Shop Indie Bookstores

 
 

Jonathan and Martha
Petr Horacek
Phaidon Press
Ages 3 to 6, Grades P to 1


From the publisher:


Jonathan and Martha are two lonely worms that live on opposite sides of a tree. One day, a big juicy pear lands on the ground between them. Jonathan nibbles from the left, and Martha nibbles from the right - and soon they are caught in a tangle!


Using his signature style of eye-catching illustration, collage and simple narrative, award winning children’s author, Petr Horáček weaves together a story of friendship between two lonely worms.

 

Click to enlarge.

 


Find Jonathan and Martha on Amazon or support independent bookselling by using IndieBound.

Shop Indie Bookstores

 
 

Yucky Worms : Read and Wonder
Vivian French, Jessica Ahlberg
Candlewick Press
Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3


From the publisher:


Here’s to nature’s recyclers! Kids will burrow right into this book about the industrious — and danger-filled — life of the delightfully yucky earthworm.


Who would want to be friends with a wiggly, slimy worm? You can’t even tell which end is which! But there’s more to these lowly creatures than meets the eye. Kids are invited to find out where worms live, see how they move, and understand why gardeners consider them friends with the help of this humorous and informative look at an unappreciated — and fascinating — creature.

 

Click to enlarge.

 


Find Yucky Worms on Amazon or support independent bookselling by using IndieBound.

Shop Indie Bookstores